The Embassy of the Republic of
Malawi In Kuwait


Government & Politics

Malawi is a Republic and gained independence from Britain on July 6 1964 and became a multiparty democracy in 1993. The Government of the Republic of Malawi is made up of three arms: The Executive, The Legislative and The Judiciary.

The Executive: The President heads the Executive arm of Government. The President is the Head of State, Head of Government and the Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi Defence Force.

Cabinet List

The following is the list of members of the Cabinet of the Republic of Malawi.

1. State President, Minister of Defence and Commander-In- Chief of the Malawi Defence Force and the Malawi Police Service: His Excellency Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika.
2. Vice President and Minister Responsible for Disaster and Relief Management, National Public Events and Chairperson of the Civil Service and Public Service Reform          Commission: Right Honourable Saulos Klaus Chilima.
3. Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development: Honourable Goodall Gondwe MP.
4. Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation: Honourable George Chaponda, M.P.
5. Minister of Labour and Manpower Development: Honourable Henry Mussa, M.P.
6. Minister of Health: Honourable Dr. Jean Kalilani, M.P.
7. Minister of Gender, Children, Disability and Social Welfare: Honourable Patricia Kaliati, M.P.
8. Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security: Honourable Atupele Muluzi, M.P.
9. Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs: Honourable Samuel Tembenu, MP.
10. Minister of Information, Tourism and Culture: Honourable Kondwani Nankhumwa, M.P.
11. Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining: Honourable Bright Msaka, S.C.
12. Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development: Honourable Dr. Allan Chiyembekeza, M.P.
13. Minister of Industry and Trade: Honourable Joseph Mwanamveka, M.P.
14. Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development: Honourable Paul Chibingu, M.P.
15. Ministry of Transport and Public Works: Honourable Francis Kasaila, M.P.
16. Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Dr. Emmanuel Fabiano, M.P.
17. Minister of Local Government and Rural Development: Honourable Trasizio Gowelo, M.P.
18. Minister of Youth and Sports Development: Honourable Grace Chiumia, M.P.
19. Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Vincent Winstone Ghambi, M.P.
20. Deputy Minister of Defence: Honourable Jappie Mhango, M.P.


Established in 1891, the British protectorate of Nyasaland became the independent nation of Malawi in 1964. After thirty years of one-party rule under President Hastings Kamuzu Banda, the country held multiparty elections in 1994, under a provisional constitution, which came into full effect the following year. The first elections under the multiparty system took place on 17 May 1994 electing Dr. Bakili Muluzi as Malawi's first democratically elected president. In 2004, Malawi held its third multi-party elections and elected President Bingu wa Mutharika as the Head of State.

Following the death of President Bingu wa Mutharika on 5 April 2012, Her Excellency Madam President Joyce Hilda Mtila Banda was sworn in as the Head of State on 7 April 2012.

Government Structure: Central Government comprises of the Executive (President, Cabinet and Civil Servants); Judiciary (Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court and the Magistrates Court) and Legislature (Parliament and members of Parliament). Local Government is headed by the Minister of Local Government. It is then decentralized into Urban authorities and municipalities (Mayor, Chief Executive, Municipal and Ward Council); District Council (Chairperson and Local Council) and Traditional Authority Council (Group Village headman and Village Head).

Regional and International Membership
The country is a member of the United Nations, African Union, The Commonwealth, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).