The Embassy of the Republic of
Malawi In Kuwait


General Information

Geographical Location
Malawi is located in South East Africa bordered by Mozambique (East, South & West) Tanzania (North) and Zambia (North-west) .

Malawi lies within an inter-tropical zone. The country experiences three seasons; cool and dry from May to August, hot and dry from September to mid November and hot and wet from November to April.

Malawi covers a geographical area of 118,480 km. It is slightly smaller than the state if Pennsylvania. The country is divided into three regions namely the southern, central and northern region with a total of 28 districts.

Malawi's population estimate was 13.6 million (2009 National Statistics Office Malawi).

Coat Of Arms
The national crest has the Rising Sun representing the Dawn of Freedom in Africa, at the top and bottom of the shield. The Fish Eagle and the wavy blue and white bands on the shield symbolize Lake Malawi. The Lion and the Leopard support and guard the crest as a whole. The land at the base is the rugged Mount Mulanje. The Coat of Arms bears the motto Unity and Freedom.

Major Cities
Lilongwe (the Capital City) and Blantyre (the Commercial Capital)